VFW OK Scout of the Year

John Fisher - 4/17/2020

The Department of Oklahoma Veterans of Foreign Wars is proud to announce their Department winner of the Scout of the Year Program.


This year’s winner is Cale S. Abbot, an Eagle Scout with Troop 731 in Sallisaw, Oklahoma.  Cale was sponsored by Sallisaw’s VFW Post 4518.  Cale was the unamious pick of the panel of judges that included 2 former scouts and 3 former scout leaders.  Cale’s accomplishments include earning 36 merit badges to date as well as Bronze, Silver and Gold Palms.  His Eagle Scout project was the construction of a 6’ x 12’ sign on a hand-laid rock wall foundation for the Sequoyah County Fairgrounds.  Before his project, there was no signage making the fairgrounds difficult to locate.  He raised $1,800 to fund the project and supervised 22 volunteers in its construction.  His letters of recommendation for the award included letters from the principal of Sallisaw High School, Sallisaw’s mayor, and one of Sequoyah County’s County Commissioners.  Cale has been able to accomplish while only being a Sophomore in High School.


The Department of Oklahoma would also like to congratulate our 2nd place finisher, Ethan J. McBride.  He is an Eagle Scout in Troop 2899 in Stillwater, Oklahoma.  He was sponsored by Stillwater’s VFW Post 2027.  Our 3rd place finisher was Hayden Love, an Eagle Scout in Troop 331 in Edmond, Oklahoma.  He was sponsored by the Del City VFW Post 9969.


John H. Fischer

Department Scouting Chair

Department of Oklahoma VFW